• Playlist
Playlist save clear
Your playlist is currently empty.

The Lucid Dream

The Lucid Dream


Share This Artist



'Compulsion Songs' is the 3rd album from Carlisle's The Lucid Dream. Rather than bathe in the critical acclaim for the recent 2nd album The Lucid Dream are quick out the blocks, venturing into pastures new again. If anything, it reaffirms those claims by many that they are one of the most important, diverse and exciting bands in the UK at present.
Recorded at Whitewood Studios, Liverpool, with Rob Whiteley, the album has again been produced alongside Ross Halden (Ghost Town Studios, Leeds). Throughout the record The Lucid Dream demonstrate their broad palette of sounds, whilst most importantly also containing the key element, top songcraft.
'Bad Texan' (the first work from the album unveiled via 12' vinyl in March this year) sees the band move into dancefloor meets Krautrock. The Krautrock/kosmiche groove is also present alongside new-wave in the song of 2-parts, 'Nadir/'Epitaph'. '21st Century' is quite appropriately the nearest thing to their protest song, a 2-minute white noise/garage/rockabilly blast, inspired by a heavy dose of Beastie Boys listening, sandwiched between either side of a diverse and affirming album. 'The Emptiest Place' is Morriconne meets 60s L.A, 'Stormy Waters' takes the melody of The Stone Roses/The Byrds, and given a sinister twist in the vein of Spiritualized. The albums knockout punch comes via the 8-minute space-dub of 'I'm A Star In My Own Right'. A band from Carlisle in full-on Kingston, Jamaica-esque dub/groove. When people talk of the need for the breath of fresh-air, it doesn't get much better than that.
'Compulsion Songs' follows on from last years critically acclaimed eponymous 2nd album, which gained plaudits from Drowned In Sound (who named the album #7 UK album of the year/#18 world album, and overall highest placed 'psych' album), Uncut, Q Magazine, Clash, Louder Than War, The Skinny, and major radio support from BBC Radio 1 (Huw Stephens), BBC Radio 2 (Huey Morgan), and BBC 6 Music (Lauren Laverne, Marc Riley (inc. 2 sessions), Steve Lamacq, Gideon Coe, Stuart Maconie, Tom Robinson). 'Mona Lisa', the opening track from the album, was also included in The Observer 'critics favourite tracks of 2015' playlist.
The Lucid Dream formed in Carlisle, Cumbria, in 2008. A string of sold-out 7"s was followed by the debut longer player, 'Songs Of Lies and Deceit', in August 2013. The album gained critical acclaim from Uncut, Q, Rocksound, Clash, Classic Rock Magazine, The Quietus, and leading French culture magazine, 'Les Inrocks', to name a few. The initial vinyl pressing of the debut album (500 copies) sold out within 2 days, and was backed by a main stage slot at Kendal Calling, 3 consecutive appearances at the Liverpool International Festival Of Psychedelia, and supports to Death In Vegas and A Place To Bury Strangers (full UK tour).
'Compulsion Songs' was released on 23rd September via Holy Are You Recordings (CD/ltd coloured vinyl/vinyl/download). They again received huge critical acclaim from the highest sources - Mojo, Uncut, Drowned In Sound, Classic Rock Magazine, Record Collector, BBC 6 Music (Stuart Maconie, Marc Riley, Tom Ravenscroft, Gideon Coe) to name a few.
The vinyl pressing of the album sold-out within a day, prompting an immediate 2nd press, with pre-sales of the album topping 1,000 before release. The album was backed by a headline UK tour, and a main slot at Liverpool International Festival of Psychedelia (for which they were singled out for major plaudits from The Quietus, The Skinny and Drowned In Sound).

Music Videos

add private note Private Notes

Click here to add a private note. Private notes can only be viewed by you.

add comment Comments

Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.